Sarkodie is Ghana’s finest
Posted on: 2010-Apr-11        Joy fm
  Email to a Friend   Print Format
Rap artiste Sarkodie was the biggest winner at the MTN/Ghana Music Awards night at the Accra International Conference Centre as he swept five competitive awards, including the coveted Artiste of the Year.

The hip-hop/hiplife Artiste of the Year, Best Rapper of the Year, Album of the Year and The Discovery of the Year awards completed Sarkodie’s loot on the night that saw event title sponsor and telecoms industry market leader, MTN, outdoor a most ambitious text-and-win promotion to see the 2010 World Cup in South Africa through.

For the 90 days from April 10, MTN customers have 90 cars to win by simply texting WIN to text code 2010 at the cost of Ghp70.

The night was not all awards, as some of the awardees and other artistes took turns to dish out splendid acts that got patrons dancing, tip-toeing or simply hike their seats for a better view of proceedings.

It was a night of musical fireworks as some of Ghana’s finest and foreign ones; Amakye Dede and Okyeame Kwame, 4x4, Ohemaa Mercy, Afia, Nana Boroo, V.I.P., Wutah, Ruff N Smooth, Ezy, Becca, R2Bees, Wande Coal from Nigeria, Jozi from South Africa, Donaeo from the United Kingdom and Sarkodie took turns to ‘tear’ the house down. The performances nearly overshadowed the main reason many came to the venue.

Not even Zita Okaikoi, Minister for Tourism, George Andah, Chief Marketing Officer of MTN, Diana Hopson, President of Musicians Union of Ghana and host of dignitaries at the Dome of the Conference Centre could resist the temptation to nod softly to the music.

Below is the full list of winners in the competitive category:

Artist of the year

Most popular song of the year
Simple – Bradez

Discovery of the year

Hip Hop /Hiplife song of the year
You Dey Craze - Ayigbe Edem

Hip hop/hiplife artist of the year

Gospel Song of the year
Ayeyi Ndwom - DSP Kofi Sarpong

Gospel Artist of the year
Ohema Mercy

Highlife song of the year
Kotosa - Wutah

Highlife artist of the year
Kofi B

Afro-pop Song of the year
World Trade Centre - 4x4

Reggae Song of the year
Jah will be there - Wutah

Best Collaboration of the year
Kasiebo - Obrafour & Guru

Best Rapper of the year

African artiste of the year
Wande Coal - Nigeria

Record of the year
Daa Ke Daa - Becca

Album of the Year
Makye - Sarkodie

Song writer of the year
Daa ke Daa - Kwabena Akwaboa Jnr

Best Male Vocal performance
PV of Wutah fame

Best Female Vocal Performance

Best Music Video
Breathe - Kwaku T and D Black

Producer of the Year
Richie - Lynx Entertainment

Traditional artist of the year
John Osei Korankye

Instrumentalist of the year
Kwame Yeboah

World Bank Music for Development Award
School Dey Be - Asem

MUSIGA Merit Award
Abinfour Nana Yeboah